IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON PLASMA SCIENCE

The IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society is an organization, within the framework of the IEEE, of members with principal professional interest in the field of plasma science. All members of the IEEE are eligible for membership in the Society and will receive this TRANSACTIONS upon payment of the annual Society membership fee of \$25.00 plus an annual subscription fee of \$65.00. For information on joining, write to IEEE at the address below. Member copies of Transactions/Journals are for personal use only.

ADMINISTRATIVE COMMITTEE Society Officers

President J. M. Lehr Sandia National Laboratories P.O. Box 5800, MS 1193 Albuquerque, NM 87185-1193 (505) 844-8554 FAX: (505) 844-8467

jmlehr@sandia.gov

R. GILGENBACH

Vice President C. WOODY Physics Dept. Bldg 510 C Brookhaven National Lab. Upton, NY 11973 (631) 344 2752 FAX: (631) 344 3253 woody@bnl.gov

Fusion Technology

G. COOPERSTEIN

Secretary A. M. DAWSON LARSEN Stanford Linear Accelerator Ctr. 2575 Sand Hill Rd., MS66 Stanford, CA 94309-0450 (650) 926-2748 FAX: (650) 926-5124 amlarsen@slac.stanford.edu

Treasurer E. J. LAMPO Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Univ. of California Mail Stop 80-101 1 Cyclotron Road Berkelev, CA 94720 (510) 486-6779 FAX: (510) 486-5800 e.lampo@ieee.org

W. W. Moses Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Mailstop 55-121 1 Cyclotron Road Berkeley, CA 94720 (510) 486-4432 FAX: (510) 486-4768 wwmoses@lbl.gov

U. Bratzler

Past President

Technical Committee Chairmen

(see directory)

Computer Applications in Nuclear and Plasma Sciences J.-P. MARTIN

Plasma Science and Applications

M. TILLACK

Nuclear and Medical Imaging Sciences T. LEWELLEN

Radiation Effects

Particle Accelerator Science and Technology I. BEN-ZVI

R. C. LANZA

Radiation Instrumentation Transnational

T. OLDHAM **Functional Committee Chairmen**

Awards Chapter and Local Activities C. L. NEUMEYER, JR. P. S. WINOKUR

Communications P. N. CLOUT Nominations

Pulsed Power Science and Technology

Conference Policy R. S. LARSEN **Publications**

P. S. WINOKUR Standards

Finance H. L. FLESCHER

Membership Newsletter Transnational Conference Liaison A. M. DAWSON LARSON P. V. DRESSENDORFER C. ILGNER W. Moses R. M. KEYSER P. LEDÜ

NPSS Liaison Representatives in IEEE Committees

Transactions on Medical Imaging Steering Committee A. B. BRILL and R. J. JASZCZAK

Professional Activities Council for Engineers (PACE)

Medical Science

Fellow Candidate Evaluation

NPSS Liaison Representatives to IEEE-USA Committees

Coalition for Plasma Science G. L. ROGOFF Research & Development Policy

Distinguished Lecturer Program C. L. NEUMEYER, JR. Sensors Council

R. C. LANZA AND C. L. NEUMEYER, JR. Social Implications of Technology R. S. LARSEN

Energy Policy

Standards Liaison M. Unterweger

A. R. BRILL H. L. Flescher and R. D. Schrimpf TAB Awards and Recognition P. S. WINOKUR

RADECS

Women in Engineering A. JOHNSTON

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON PLASMA SCIENCE

S. J. GITOMER, Editor-in-Chief

Senior Editors

Industrial, Commercial & Medical Charged Particle Applications of Plasmas P. K. CHU

Beams & Sources R. J. COMMISSO

A. D. LAVIETES

High Energy Density Plasmas & Their Interactions C. A. COVERDALE

Microwave Generation & Microwave-Plasma Interaction G. S. NUSINOVICH

Space Plasmas & Dusty Plasmas A. J. PERATT

Pulsed Power Science & Technology

E. SCHAMILOGLU

Associate Editors

I. ALEXEFF R. L. BOXMAN R. J. COMMISSO

S. BIEDRON

S. H. GOLD A. HIROSE T. C. KATSOULEAS

H. KUEHL M. J. KUSHNER G. S. NUSINOVICH J. Drummond Founding Editor (1973–1978)

A. L. PERATT G. L. ROGOFF E. SCHAMILOGLU K. H. SCHOENBACH J. L. SHOHET P. K. SHUKLA

E. J. POWERS EDITOR (1979-1983)

IEEE Officers

LEAH H. JAMIESON, President and CEO LEWIS M. TERMAN, President-Elect CELIA L. DESMOND, Secretary DAVID G. GREEN, Treasurer MICHAEL R. LIGHTNER, Past President

MOSHE KAM, Vice President, Educational Activities

JOHN B. BAILLIEUL, Vice President, Publication Services and Products PEDRO A. RAY, Vice President, Regional Activities
GEORGE W. ARNOLD, President, IEEE Standards Association
PETER W. STAECKER, Vice President, Technical Activities

JOHN W. MEREDITH, President, IEEE-USA

EDWARD DELLA TORRE, Director, Division IV-Electromagnetics and Radiation

IEEE Executive Staff

JEFFRY W. RAYNES, CAE, Executive Director & Chief Operating Officer

DONALD CURTIS Human Resources ANTHONY DURNIAK, Publications Activities JUDITH GORMAN, Standards Activities CECELIA JANKOWSKI, Regional Activities BARBARA COBURN STOLER, Educational Activities

MATTHEW LOEB, Corporate Strategy & Communications RICHARD D. SCHWARTZ, Business Administration CHRIS BRANTLEY, IEEE-USA MARY WARD-CALLAN, Technical Activities SALLY A. WASELIK, Information Technology

IEEE Periodicals

Transactions/Journals Department

Staff Director: FRAN ZAPPULLA

Editorial Director: DAWN MELLEY Production Director: ROBERT SMREK Managing Editor: MONA MITTRA Senior Editor: MARGARET M. RAFFERTY

IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON PLASMA SCIENCE (ISSN 0093-3813) is published bimonthly by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. Responsibility for the contents rests upon the authors and not upon the IEEE, the Society/Council, or its members. IEEE Corporate Office: 3 Park Avenue, 17th Floor, New York, NY 10016-5997. IEEE Operations Center: 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. NJ Telephone: +1 732 981 0060. Price/Publication Information: Individual copies: IEEE members \$20.00 (first copy only), nonmembers \$158.00 per copy. (Note: Postage and handling charge not included.) Member and nonmember subscription prices available on request. Available in microfiche and microfilm. Copyright and Reprint Permissions: Abstracting is permitted with credit to the source. Libraries are permitted to photocopy for private use of patrons, provided the per-copy fee indicated in the code at the bottom of the first page is paid through the Copyright Clearance Center, 222 Rosewood Drive, Danvers, MA 01923. For all other copying, reprint, or republication permission, write to Copyrights and Permissions Department, IEEE Publications Administration, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. Copyright © 2007 by The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers, Inc. All rights reserved. Periodicals Postage Paid at New York, NY and at additional mailing offices. Postmaster: Send address changes to IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON PLASMA SCIENCE, IEEE, 445 Hoes Lane, P.O. Box 1331, Piscataway, NJ 08855-1331. GST Registration No. 125634188. Printed in U.S.A.